Children are taught English across both key stages through daily basic skills (covering spelling, handwriting, grammar skills, punctuation and so on) and Literacy lessons.

Reading -For information on how reading is taught, please click here

Writing – More information coming soon

Reading is taught through guided reading sessions using Project X books from Oxford Reading Tree and individual reading books from our scheme (a variety of fiction, non fiction, true stories, myths and legends and graphic novels from Oxford Reading Tree).  Children are encouraged to read a little each night at home as part of their English homework from EYFS to Year 6.  They are also encouraged to use Oxford Owl website to access more ebooks and play games to develop comprehension skills.

All year groups begin each academic year with a two week author study.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – Author: David McKee

  • Year 1 – Author: Julia Donaldson
  • Year 2 – Author: John Burnigham
  • Year 3 – Author: Roald Dahl
  • Year 4 – Author: JK Rowling
  • Year 5 – Author: Jacquleine Wilson
  • Year 6 – Author: Michael Morpurgo

Children from year two to six (earlier if able) have a set of weekly spellings to learn as part of their homework, these are set in ability groups by quantity and difficulty and are tested weekly.